Asking for System Architecture for FHIR API Guidance

Good Day FHIR Community!
The main focus for this post is to ask for correction on what I have picked up from
all the self research I have done.

I am new to FHIR and any HL7 related specification.
I have been doing intense research on FHIR and its application from
the technical perspective.
I also have been looking up Connectathon presentation ppts
as well as FHIR related youtube videos (particularly on the architectural perspective).

I would like to know if what I have picked up is correct and would like to one question as an extension of my understanding.

So here we go…

FHIR is mainly focused on creating a “strict” specification (standard) in representing medical data using REST API as one of the paradigms provided by spec (data model of resources are strictly there → I do know that you can do profiling to customize resources but this would go against the whole idea of “standardization” idealism) to transfer/share data across systems.

The reason for the word “strict” is because from what I have read and seen, in architecture perspective, use of DB is not strictly limited to regular Legacy RDB but Document based DB. However, the model of resources are strictly specified and must follow the structure for FHIR to act as a standard and for different EMR or HIMS system to decode the data.

Referencing to one of the youtube video by Grahame Grieve (Grahame Grieve - FHIR or Relational Model for Storing Data | DevDays 2020 Virtual June - YouTube)
it is up to the implementers to decide how strict you want the system to handle the medical data. Also, depending on the strictness of data granularity, it would affect the proportion of RDBMS and Document DB (MongoDB).

So based on all the information above and how I understood FHIR and supposedly the architecture (although I personally think this depends on how implementers have designed the system architecture)