Auth - Basic question

Hello all, my first post here so please excuse any mistake. I also should say I am a beginner in the topic so this is a quite fundamental question, but your help is highly appreciated as your input is the only form of expert input I have available.

Question:
I am using SMART + Azure FHIR API, but I am struggling to understand how an authenticated account (say a hotmail user) can be paired to a specific patient and therefore access the resources.

For example, user999@email.com should only be able to access Patient/1234. Does it mean that:

• The patient ID needs to equal the e-mail address?
  • A server admin needs to enable the resource manually for each user somehow?
  • The patient itself needs to know his/her own resource ID?

Again, your help is much appreciated and necessary! Thanks in advance.

First of all, a user account may have access to more than one patient record (e.g. family members). It may not have access to the same persons record.

The matching from user account to patient(s) is out-of-band of the authorization. It has be done somehow by some service somewhere that manages the process. Typically, in USA, a hospital will give users a username and password.

1 Like

Reading more about the launch context of SMART, I realised that there are 2 ways to get the patient context:

1. Send it as part of the authorize() headers (e.g. launch=[base64 patient:id pair])
  2. Get it from the server in the access_token response (e.g. patient: “123”)

The first method is clear to me but seems unsafe, since all the app needs to know is the patient id in order to set it as the context.

The second method I don’t fully understand still. How can I set my server (Azure in my case) to send back a patient id depending on the authenticated AD account? An example or resource would be much welcome.