CARIN BB / da Vinci / US Core

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to the interoperability and FHIR field, though not to the healthcare field and am working on integrating the FHIR guidelines into our systems. I’m specifically focusing on ExplanationOfBenefitis Pharmacy part and I have a couple of questions.

1. What is the relationship between CARIN BB, da Vinci PDEX and USCore and FHIR? So far, I understand that the first three are guidelines which are using FHIR API standards to build a system for interoperability.
  2. Why does ExplanationOfBenefits Pharmacy exist in CARIN BB but not in da Vinci and USCore?
  3. Why does this Mapping CPCDS to FHIR only have 49 data elements for Pharmacy EOB while CARIN BB Pharmacy EOB has 54 data elements?

Thank you

In response to your 1st question,

FHIR is a base standard for the definition and exchange of healthcare related information. It is focused around “resources” which are a collection of specific elements that define a specific concept (e.g. Practitioner, Observation).
US Core is a set of “profiles” that constrain the resources for a specific use case. They may constrain the cardinality of a specific element (e.g. require the element to be present), define a specific value set to be used for particular element (e.g. RxNorm for a medication) and bind extension (additional elements not found in the base) to the specific resource.
Da Vinci Payer Data Exchange (PDex) is an implementation guide that defines one or more specific use cases (e.g. the exchange of payer clinical data to a provider, member, or other payer). It establishes the content of the exchange (profiles, value sets, extension, …) and the operations (RESTful exchanges, messaging, …) security requirements (e.g. SMART OAuth 2.0) and conformance statements used for the exchanges defined by the implementation guide.