Help needed on profiling

Hey guys,

My name is Marc, I’m a Product Manager at Withings, working on our APIs that allow developers to fetch Health Data measured by the variety of connected devices we provide. We are currently in the process of transforming our Health Data APIs into FHIR APIs.
I had the chance to assist FHIR DevDays a few weeks ago and being there answered a lot of questions I had, however there are still some missing pieces for me to be sure we’re on the right track.

The FHIR resources that we will be providing are Observation, Patient and Device.
Today we already have millions of observations in our databases, stored in various proprietary formats and different types of databases optimised for the data type (high frequency data vs low frequency data).
To transform our data from our proprietary format to FHIR, we will use HAPI and map our data on the generated php data model classes.

Profiling

I’m currently starting to create our IG, and this brings tons of questions :

1. When to choose to create your own profile vs trying to find one that fits ? Right now I think a good practice would be to derive one of the vital-signs profiles for Withings Observations, and use existing profiles for some of them when they exist (for instance us-core-blood-pressure for blood pressure)? But I’m still wondering which profile to choose, as for instance the French government has defined one and so did the US government.
  2. How to be sure that the webservices will be conform to our declared profiles? It seems to me that creating an IG is a very declarative process but it doesn’t constrain our webservices to return Resources that match our profile. Even if we test thoroughly our API before launch, after that regressions might happen?
  3. I’m planning to use fsh and sushi to create our profiles and IG, then publish it using IG publisher, is that a correct approach?

Performance