Implementation guide basic queries

I am new to FHIR in general and definitely new to Implementation guide. There are plenty of things that are unclear to me.

Recently, we implemented a healthcare app - lets call it A that can give the user’s blood pressure, temperature, etc. We also built a test app that can integrate with it.

All these apps are FHIR compliant. The test app sends a ServiceRequest to the app A to get data. A sends back a response in FHIR compliant format (ObservationResponse) with the data that the user wants. Ex: the test app may ask for temperature and A will give the reading.

We are also making our app open for other 3rd party developers to integrate with. Ex: any 3rd party app should be able to integrate with us by sending a FHIR compliant request (ServiceRequest) and can get the data they want by reading in the ObservationResponse it receives.

If someone wants to build an app that integrates with ours, I can tell them the following -

1. FHIR request they need to send us
  2. FHIR response they can expect - including the complete structure.
  3. What values to populate in the request and what fields to read from the output.
  4. I can share examples as well.
  5. We work through Android intent calls (not sure if that matters)

Overall, our implementation is a very basic FHIR integration. An app willing to integrate has to send a request in a specific format and expect a particular output.

However, I am not sure what goes into the Implementation guide. I looked at some examples but did not get much of a clue.In fact, it left me more confused.

Some questions:

1. Whatever inputs I have for integration (mentioned above), is that what we need for the implementation guide?
  2. Any other info we need to add?