Organise and make sense [Help Needed]

Hello community,

I’m new to the health ecosystem, considering architectures. Startup mindset.

As we’ve established long long long time ago health is complicated, with the digitalisation of healthcare a “health-in-flux” chronicle might be in order.

Exploring FHIR in depth I’ve came to be somewhat confused by current state of affairs, namely the “Resources” concept.

Q1: Would “resources” be a good enough generalisation to say that they are supposed to represent actual “things” that a care giver needs to “know” in order to provide treatment to a patient? (for ex. CarePlan, Medications, FamilyMedicalHistory) ?

Q2: There are resources grounded in FHIR, then there are resources defined in project argonaut.

1. Are these the same?
  2. Can they conflict?
  3. Might they be eventually merged?

Q3: How smart on FHIR who are creating “specifications” related to the resources defined by FHIR/argonaut? What difference purpose do these serve?

Q4: How (or is?) opencem.org related to any of the above?

Q5: Any other initiatives that I’ve not listed working towards making FHIR more startups get go friendly?

Thanks,
Max.

Resources are data structures for sharing healthcare-related information. So if you want to pass information about a patient’s care plans, family history, allergies, etc. forom one system to another, FHIR Resources define a standardized data syntax for doing so.