Using FHIR to transmit observations from point-of-care devices

Hi. I am a newbie to FHIR, but I am trying to build a very complex solution, so I could use some advice.

We have an application that is very good at collecting data from point-of-care devices in hospitals (e.g. patient monitors). These devices provide patient observation data like heart rate, EKG, etc. I would like to add FHIR capability to our application such that it can transmit these observations onward to external HIS or EMR systems. Keep in mind that there is potentially a lot of data to transmit. Just a few of these waveforms could easily generate thousands of datapoints per second.

I think that if this were a HL7 v2 solution, it would be easy enough. I would create an ORU-R01 message and send it via MLLP. But with FHIR I am very confused how to proceed:

• Should our application be a “FHIR Client” which sends data to the recipient (which would then be a FHIR Server)?
  • What paradigm should we use to transmit the data? Due to the “event based” nature of these vital signs, I am wondering if messaging would be better than REST.

Any thoughts would be appreciated here! Thanks!

Or… I think abother solution would to add a FHIR Facade to my application and allow clients to query it for observations. The downside to this is that we would only provide the most recent values… and how would clients know when a new value is available?

This is more complex than I thought.

Unless you’re planning to persist large volumes of data for extended periods of time (and manage permissions around who’s allowed to see what when), acting as a client and pushing the data to a server (that does have the persistence and permissions capabilities) is probably best.